New friends

I know I promised myself  wouldn’t Google anything…but…. http://www.hysterectomy-association.org.uk/. This site is so useful and led me to http://www.facebook.com/HysterectomyUK and that led me to June Jamborees facebook page.

The June Jamborees is a private group on the Facebook site  i.e no one else can read it except the people in the group, it doesn’t appear on your wall, so you are free to be honest and graphic if you need to be without fear of your boss/husband/colleagues etc reading it!

It is for all women due to have their hysterectomy in that month. By checking on the Hysterectomy Association site you can find out the names of the groups for other months and join for fantastic advice and support. All the ladies will be going through the same thing at the same time and you may even find you hysterectomy twin, who will be having their op on the same day as you.

There does seem to be quite a few discussions centred around cake, cocktails and jokes to keep our spirits up but it is jam packed to the rafters with practical ides and support.

I was also pointed in the direction of an amazing blog by Elizabeth Cross Broad hurst which tells her difficult battle with endometriosis and the desperately difficult decisions she and her husband had to make about having a hysterectomy. Her honesty inspired me to tell my story. Her circumstances are very different from my own, indeed all our stories are unique, but I believe there is a place for every one.

Here is the link to Elizabeth’s blog.

http://myendojourney.wordpress.com/

One response to “New friends

  1. louise your blog is written beautifully , I will be thinking of you over the coming weeks
    xx

Leave a Reply

