Pre-Op appoinment day

It’s 9am and my appointment is at 1.30 and the butterflies are just stirring low in my belly. I have got a list of questions ready, I have organised childcare for my two boys, Clare is coming with me again and all I have to do now is wait.

I have almost finished reading 101 Handy Hints For a Happy Hysterectomy, it calms me down and shakes me up in equal measures but it is so full of useful ideas that I keep dipping in to it, jotting things down on my shopping list and list of questions for the surgeon.

I am finding that more and more of my brain space is being taken up by thoughts of the operation and recovery. I spent the other evening online reading all the web pages and facebook pages I mentioned before and then of course I went to bed and couldn’t sleep with everything flittering about inside my head. I ended up getting up and watching 90 minutes of Britain’s Got Talent. Apart from clearing my head it made me feel quite normal!

The postman has just been and I have had a letter inviting me for a routine cervical smear test. Have just had a good giggle at that because it is most likely that a week from now I wont have a cervix! I have never been that worried about having smear tests, they are a necessary evil and to be honest after having 2 children you aren’t that freaked out about people doing things to your “downstairs areas”!

Later:

My Facebook status should read “Louise is wondering why she was so worked up about her pre op appointment”

What thoroughly nice people I met today, helpful, polite and above all reassuring. I didn’t know what to expect but it was just weight, height, urine, blood pressure, pulse, blood samples, medical history , paperwork and  ECG (but the machine wouldn’t work so I lay there with my left boob exposed whilst she fiddled around with the machine for 10 mins before giving up – much to Clare’s amusement!).

The admissions nurse reiterate that I was to do NOTHING for 2 weeks, then only very light tasks. No housework! ( I told Clare to tell Jon that she said no house work for 12 months!) Luckily I have my Mum coming to stay for a few days after my discharge from hospital and she won’t let me lift a finger. My children on the other hand are going to get a bit of a shock when they realise that they are going to have to do things for themselves! I often joke that my youngest would have me breathe for him if he could get away with it! I have been trying to prepare them and make them a little more independent – we will see how successful I have been.

Leave a Reply

